Down to Earth Romance

May and early June is the most relaxing and enjoyable time for me to visit the beach. The temperatures are moderate and the crush crowds of summer haven’t yet arrived.

Photo copyright Adele Downs 2019

Good morning from the beach! A friend of mine found this large, round basket at the Home Goods store, which turned out to be the perfect container for the oversized shells in my collection. They’d been displayed individually throughout my house, but I think showcasing them together creates more impact. There’s a story behind each item in the basket, collected over the course of my life. To name a few:

-The starfish my daughter found as a child, attached to a bulkhead at Gordon’s Pond beach.
-Driftwood my late husband found while we walked along the shoreline in Rehoboth.
-The horn shell I bought from a fisherman on a beach in Jamaica.
-The conch shell I found while exploring The Bahamas.
-Brain coral given to me by my parents decades after their 1960’s Caribbean cruise.

Each item inside the basket is a cherished memory, and I look forward to adding to the collection for years to come. Perhaps you’ll be inspired to display your own collection of personal treasures to beautify your home and brighten your spirit.

Speaking of collections, I finished writing a short story for an anthology scheduled for publication in February 2020. If the story is accepted by the publisher, I’ll be sure to tell you about this exciting project.

Have a great week!
Best–Adele

Photo copyright Adele Downs 2019

The Perfect Girlfriend
by Karen Hamilton

HARLEQUIN – Graydon House Books (U.S. & Canada)
Graydon House
General Fiction (Adult), Mystery & Thrillers
Pub Date 26 Mar 2019

YOU’VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS.

Juliette loves Nate.

She will follow him anywhere. She’s even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.

They are meant to be.

The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.

She is the perfect girlfriend. And she’ll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.

True love hurts, but Juliette knows it’s worth all the pain…
If you love someone, set them free.
If they come back, they’re yours. If they don’t, make them.

OFFICIAL BOOK DESCRIPTION:
The Last Mrs. Parrish meets Fatal Attraction in this riveting, voice-driven domestic suspense novel about a woman who will stop at nothing to reclaim her ex-boyfriend, including training as a flight attendant at the airline that employs him.

Juliette has everything going for her: she’s young, pretty, and driven, and she’s training for an exciting new career as a flight attendant.

The darkness in her past doesn’t matter, because she’s moved beyond all that, and she’s building a great new life for herself—one that will impress her ex-boyfriend, Nate, who left her in a foolish moment of commitment-phobia, one that he surely regrets now. But he’ll be so proud of her once he sees how much she’s grown. And he will see her. After all, he’s a pilot at the very same airline where Juliette is training

What kind of man wouldn’t appreciate the effort Juliette has taken to win Nate back? She cleans his apartment when he’s not there, and makes sure to leave all his favorite foods in the fridge. It’s only a matter of time before he leaves his airheaded new girlfriend and realizes Juliette is the only one for him.
He will realize it. Juliette will make sure of it. After all, she is the perfect girlfriend.

ISBN 9781525831737
PRICE $16.99 (USD)

Adele’s Review:

4 Stars
This was a fun book to read. It’s not often a suspense novel is written from the point of view of the antagonist, but The Perfect Girlfriend offers us insight into the twisted mind of a sociopath. Elizabeth/Lily/Juliette takes absolutely no responsibility for her behavior, lives her life to “get even” for her jealousy of others, and causes havoc in the lives of those she resents. She’s manipulative and relentless and stretched my suspension of disbelief almost to its breaking point with her antics.

The Perfect Girlfriend is well-written and clever, although I would have liked the pacing to be quicker in the last few chapters of the novel. Still, I thoroughly enjoyed this story and thank NetGalley and Harlequin Graydon House Books for the opportunity to read and review the book.

Spring temperatures in Delaware have varied wildly–from the 40’s and 50’s to a day or two of sunny 70 degrees. Walks along the beach and boardwalk are exhilarating and make me anxious for steady warmer weather!

Photo copyright Adele Downs 2019

I’m back! Sorry to have been gone so long. Over the past two months I finished the novel I’d been working on and started the submission process. I’m hoping to partner with an agent on the project. Wish me luck. If you know anything about the publishing business you know manuscripts can take just short of forever to find a home.

What’s the book about? A story unlike any I’ve published before. It’s dark and suspenseful, which is all I can say for now. I’m excited about the prospect of offering something new to my readers.

There’s been a month long commotion at my little house at the beach. I had the interior remodeled and a new roof added. You can imagine the noise on the days the contractor inside the house sawed and hammered while the roofers sawed and hammered above. Those days forced me outside, but I didn’t mind. The results have been worth it. After eight months of living at the beach full-time, following the death of my dear husband, I’ve finally settled in. It’s time to move forward…by writing a new book.

Happy Spring!

Best–Adele

Photo copyright Adele Downs 2016-2019

The beach is peaceful in winter. On mild days, with temperatures in the 50’s, it’s comforting to walk along the coastline or on the boardwalk without the crush crowds of summer.

Photos copyright Adele Downs 2019

I Know You
A Novel of Suspense by Annabel Kantaria
Crooked Lane Books

Mystery & Thrillers, Women’s Fiction
Pub Date 11 Jun 2019

Description:

A twisted domestic thriller in the vein of B. A. Paris and Shari Lapena that asks: How well do you know your friends?

That picture you posted?
I’ve seen it.
That location you tagged?
I’ve been there.
I know everything about your life . . .
And I’m going to destroy it.

A recent transplant from sunny California, life in the London suburbs is not what Taylor Watson expected. Far from the West End shops and city lights she imagined, she finds herself pregnant and lonely, with a husband frequently away on business and only social media to keep her company. It’s only after Taylor joins a book club and a walking group, that she finally starts to make some real-life friends.

Before long, Taylor’s hanging out with Anna, Sarah, Simon, and Caroline but, as her pregnancy progresses and her friendships blossom, a sense of unease develops. Nothing’s ever quite as it seems on the surface, and it soon becomes clear that Taylor’s new friends have secrets. One appears to be after Taylor’s husband, another’s always putting her down, and then there’s the question of Simon. Could he have feelings for Taylor?

But far more worryingly, one of the group’s not being too careful what they post on social media—and another is watching all too closely. Who’s stalking who . . . and why?

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

I loved reading this book! I Know You is a thrilling roller coaster ride that left me breathless and turning the pages until its explosive conclusion. Well plotted and very well-written, this novel is a must read for fans of the genre; especially if you’re one of the millions of people who post personal images on social media and share tidbits of your day to day life. We really don’t know who’s watching us!

I found the protagonist, Taylor, the pregnant American wife living in London to placate her not-so-great husband to be realistic and quite relatable. Pregnancy really does color a woman’s perspective, especially without the support of family and friends, and watching Taylor struggle to adapt to her new surroundings made me root for her from the first page to the last. There are lots of suspects in this mystery/thriller to choose from and all are interesting characters that lure us deeper into the drama. (Because I was drawn into the story, I was able to forgive the diction of the American heroine sounding exactly like her English acquaintances.) I thoroughly enjoyed reading I Know You by Annabel Kantaria and recommend adding it to your 2019 reading list. Received an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2681187056

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: