Down to Earth Romance

lorimannlori logo-croppedmosh_chair_sample3

I met aspiring romance author Lori Mann at my local chapter of Romance Writers of America and became fascinated by her impressive career as a pin-up, boudoir, and glamour photographer in the Philadelphia area. The romance industry is fueled by fantasy, and sensual photography for the everyday woman might be the ultimate fantasy experience. I invited Lori, writing as Lauren Sydney Strauss, to tell us about her studio and the business she’s built exclusively for women, by women, that has served clients from many parts of the world.

lorimann52

Are you curious about boudoir photography? Have you considered giving it a try? Do you have questions or comments for Lori Mann? Please post your thoughts and welcome Lori in the comments section.

lorimannMe 068-cropped

(Lori Mann, Owner, Lori Mann Photography)

Thank you for inviting me to join your blog today, Adele. I’ve been a professional photographer doing glamour and pin-up photography for eighteen years. I’m incredibly blessed to have one of the most fun jobs in the world!

lorimanncarrie3_045

I work out of a beautiful studio surrounded by private woodland tucked away in Newton Square, Pennsylvania. My clients are without fail fun, delightful women of all shapes, sizes, and ages—one client even did a (modest) glamour shoot to celebrate her 75th birthday!

A typical boudoir session runs about five hours. During that time we’ll put on music, pour champagne, and my professional hair and makeup artist gets the client all dolled up. Then I guide the client through the photo shoot, including instructing her on poses and expressions and reminding her to breathe!  I always joke that my clients walk in the door giggling and nervous, and walk out laughing, smiling, and strutting like a lingerie model on the catwalk.

lorimannimg_2234

Women come in for boudoir shoots for a variety of reasons: presents for their spouse on anniversaries or holidays, or to celebrate their own achievements such as significant weight loss or a milestone birthday. The romantic in me is always particularly touched, though, by the military wives who send these photos to their husbands serving long stints overseas—these very personal pin-up portraits help keep the proverbial home fires burning.

lorimannashley_221

But what I find is true for every one of my clients is that while they may be shooting with their man in mind, in the process they discover something for themselves—that they’re every bit as sexy and confident as any model or movie star. The tears of joy I see in so many of their eyes when they view their final glamorous images become the incredible gift my career gives me.

Find out more about my photography at www.LoriMannPhotography.com where I am currently running a special through May. Also, feel free to find my romance-writing alter ego, Lauren Sydney Strauss, at Facebook.com/laurensydneystrauss or Twitter @LaurenSStrauss.

mosh_pink_sample2

Comments on: "Guest Post, Lori Mann–Boudoir, Pin-Up and Glamour Photography" (17)

  1. melissakeir said:

    I highly agree Lori. Every woman should have this done, no matter what their age or size. I’ve had it done twice and loved it. I found out that I’m not really seeing myself for who I am and with the right attitude, it doesn’t matter! Congrats and many years of future success!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Melissa! I’m so glad you’ve had a chance to experience it (twice!). And you know, it’s funny – when I started shooting boudoir so many years ago I assumed it would be a one-time thing for all my customers, and yet, like yourself, I’ve had numerous women come back a second (and sometimes a third) time. Once the realize it’s not “scary” they relax and come up with more and more ideas the want to try out. It’s sooo much more about having fun than body shape. You’re as sexy as you feel!

      Like

  2. Fabulous! Now if I was a tad younger and a few pounds lighter…

    Like

  3. Kate Forest said:

    Fabulous photos. My husband would drop dead if I had them done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a wonderful job you have, Lori, in that you get to foster such female confidence.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great blog! I think we all have it in us somewhere to be glamorous, and Lori knows how to make it happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Maria Connor said:

    Great blog. This must be very inspiring for you, Lori, and so empowering for the women.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for having me, Adele!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

