Down to Earth Romance

Furnishing a pre-owned beach house, in addition to the cost of remodeling and repairs, is an expensive proposition. I’m particular about the appearance of my home, but I also want to find ways to keep to costs down. By scouring thrift shops and yard sales for quality pieces of furniture, I’ve been able to do both.

So far, I’m happy with what I found for my vacation spot: A comfy Broyhill chair with ottomon and throw pillows, brand new, with plastic still covering ($65); gently used table lamp ($10); bedside table ($25); accent table ($10). Total cost $110 and tax free. I also bought brand new pot holders, an oven mitt, and pretty kitchen dish towels, still with original department store tags, for only $1 each.

If you’ve been reluctant to shop at thrift stores, I encourage you to give it a try. It’s fun, and you never know what treasures you’ll find.

Best~Adele

comfyfloralchair

lamp

bedsidetable

rosestable

Comments on: "Mornings By The Bay: Thrift Shop Chic" (4)

  1. Love…love..love thrift store shopping. Great finds!

    Like

    • You’re so right. I went to my favorite thrift shop again today and found 6 brand new kitchen chair cushions for only $10 for the set! They cost $13-$15 EACH in department stores, linen outlets, and Wal-Mart, and they’re not nearly as pretty or as comfortable as these. I’m thrilled to be furnishing my beach house inexpensively, but beautifully.

      Thanks for subscribing to my blog.

      Best–Adele

      Like

  2. Adele, I love to garage sale and repurpose. I’ve done my cabin in special items I’ve found and at my home. Butch and I are in the process of doing the same with a new little guest house we’ve added to our property. I love your chair. We have very similar tastes…no surprise there!

    Like

    • Hi Lyn! I knew you were smart. It’s fun to find useful items and save money too. I like the chair I bought, but I LOVED the price. Only $65 for a Broyhill? Brand new with plastic still covering? I couldn’t pass up that opportunity.

      Good luck with your guest house, and thanks for commenting.

      Best–Adele

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

