Down to Earth Romance

The unofficial end of summer has come and gone with Labor Day and the Delaware beaches’ narrow escape from the wrath of Hurricane Hermine. Now that the kids have gone back to school, and the tourist season has ended, lazy days and warm sun on the September sand offers beach living at its best.

The ideal time to beachcomb is during the first low tide after a storm. When Hurricane Hermine churned the ocean off the Delaware shore and littered the coastline with pebbles and shells, I put my writing aside and went on the hunt. Beachcombing is a great way to exercise and enjoy the sunshine, and for shell collectors like me, a fun way to spend a few hours. I haven’t found gold from a pirate’s chest or the remains of a sunken ship yet, but I have gathered beautiful natural treasures for my home.

Here are some of the shells I collected after Hurricane Hermine. When wet, the black and red scalloped shells look especially vibrant. Once dry, they tend to look gray or brown. The prize of the bunch is the tiny slice of very hard to find purple beach glass.

Since the ocean is still churning from the storm system, I plan to go back to the beach at low tide to hunt more treasures. Maybe I’ll find something rare or exotic. Wish me luck!

shells1

shells3

Photos copyright Adele Downs 2016

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

