Down to Earth Romance

Archive for the ‘Book Lovers Event’ Category

Book Review-I Know You by Annabel Kantaria #Thriller #IKnowYou @BellaKay @HQStories #NetGalley

I Know You
A Novel of Suspense by Annabel Kantaria
Crooked Lane Books

Mystery & Thrillers, Women’s Fiction
Pub Date 11 Jun 2019

Description:

A twisted domestic thriller in the vein of B. A. Paris and Shari Lapena that asks: How well do you know your friends?

That picture you posted?
I’ve seen it.
That location you tagged?
I’ve been there.
I know everything about your life . . .
And I’m going to destroy it.

A recent transplant from sunny California, life in the London suburbs is not what Taylor Watson expected. Far from the West End shops and city lights she imagined, she finds herself pregnant and lonely, with a husband frequently away on business and only social media to keep her company. It’s only after Taylor joins a book club and a walking group, that she finally starts to make some real-life friends.

Before long, Taylor’s hanging out with Anna, Sarah, Simon, and Caroline but, as her pregnancy progresses and her friendships blossom, a sense of unease develops. Nothing’s ever quite as it seems on the surface, and it soon becomes clear that Taylor’s new friends have secrets. One appears to be after Taylor’s husband, another’s always putting her down, and then there’s the question of Simon. Could he have feelings for Taylor?

But far more worryingly, one of the group’s not being too careful what they post on social media—and another is watching all too closely. Who’s stalking who . . . and why?

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

I loved reading this book! I Know You is a thrilling roller coaster ride that left me breathless and turning the pages until its explosive conclusion. Well plotted and very well-written, this novel is a must read for fans of the genre; especially if you’re one of the millions of people who post personal images on social media and share tidbits of your day to day life. We really don’t know who’s watching us!

I found the protagonist, Taylor, the pregnant American wife living in London to placate her not-so-great husband to be realistic and quite relatable. Pregnancy really does color a woman’s perspective, especially without the support of family and friends, and watching Taylor struggle to adapt to her new surroundings made me root for her from the first page to the last. There are lots of suspects in this mystery/thriller to choose from and all are interesting characters that lure us deeper into the drama. (Because I was drawn into the story, I was able to forgive the diction of the American heroine sounding exactly like her English acquaintances.) I thoroughly enjoyed reading I Know You by Annabel Kantaria and recommend adding it to your 2019 reading list. Received an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2681187056

Book Review-The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne #Thriller #BookReview #NetGalley #TheSecondWife @SherylBrowne @Bookouture

The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne

Publisher: Bookouture
Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 29 Jan 2019

Description:

She made her bed. You’ll lie in it.

Rebecca only wanted to help out – to be kind. Richard seemed so alone after his wife, Nicole, died, and Rebecca wanted to make sure he knew he had someone to rely on.

But now she’s in Nicole’s immaculate house. Drinking from her favourite crystal wine glass. Keeping shoes in her orderly closet. Comforting her sweet and grieving step-daughter. It feels like Rebecca is living another woman’s life.

And as she gets to know the neighbours, Rebecca hears stories that make her wonder: was free-spirited Nicole happy in this perfect life, or did she feel trapped? Did she feel, as Rebecca is beginning to, that something wasn’t quite right?

The book everyone’s talking about! If you loved The Girl on the Train, The Wife Between Us and The Girl Before, you’ll be totally gripped and unable to put down this twisty page-turning psychological thriller.

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

I thoroughly enjoyed this fabulous thriller! It’s rare to find a perfectly plotted book with equally perfect pacing and tension, but Sheryl Browne hit the mark in The Second Wife. The story leads us on a trail of dark twists and turns to the best possible solution and satisfying ending. I rooted for the female protagonist all the way to the last page. I highly recommend adding this book to your 2019 reading list. Received an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2667372605?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

LUXURY MODEL WIFE by Adele Downs #ContemporaryRomance #RomanceBooks @Adele_Downs

Looking for your next read? LUXURY MODEL WIFE is a HOLT Medallion Award of Merit winner that has earned 5-Star reviews from book bloggers and readers.

“Adele Downs’ LUXURY MODEL WIFE is a great read. This book is so good I couldn’t put it down.” 5 Stars! Kim~Danielle’s Domain Reviews

“I’d make some space on your ‘Keeper’ shelf if I were you.” 5 Stars! Cuddles Please Blog

Luxury Model Wife4

About the Book: Antiques expert Steve Carlson must face the mistakes of his past to discover a treasure he never imagined: the heart of a vulnerable yet determined young widow.

Buy the book on Amazon!

Buy the book on Smashwords!

Also available on Apple, Kobo, Amazon UK, Barnes & Noble.

Book Review-The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald #Thriller #NetGalley @Christinamac79 @simonschuster #TheNightOliviaFell #BookReview

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

ISBN  9781501184000
PRICE  $16.00 (USD)

Release Date: February 5, 2019.

Description:
In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

Creating character emotion that evokes reader empathy is an author’s biggest challenge, and Christina McDonald achieves that in spades in her debut novel The Night Olivia Fell. Sentences can be rewritten during the editing process and facts, grammar and spelling can be verified or corrected during copy editing. However, no amount of rewriting or editing can put emotion to the page if an author is unable to channel sentiment from her creative mind to her reader.

The Night Olivia Fell is a mystery and a thriller with a subtle secondary romance that softens the edges of sharp, painful human emotions like jealousy, loss and rage, and brings hope after despair. Though the story includes several important characters, it is a mother/daughter tale that will keep you guessing and turning the pages until the very end.

Received an ARC for an honest review from NetGalley.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2639599827?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Quick Holiday Read! SANTA TO THE RESCUE by Adele Downs #romance #shortread @entangledpub @Adele_Downs #Christmasstory #Christmas

“Santa to the Rescue is the perfect kickoff to the season of celebration.” ~Romantic Reads & Such

This sweet novella, suitable for all ages from teen to adult, has received outstanding reviews and is the perfect topper for your holiday reading list. I hope you’ll pick up a copy for your eReader or tablet.

Can be read in about an hour and costs only .99!

SantaToTheRescueBlissCover

“Really puts you in the Christmas spirit! Loved it! 5 stars! ” ~ Curling Up With A Good Book

“Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!” 5 Stars! ~ Cat’s Reviews

*****

About The Story:

Firefighter Jamey Tucker knows three things in life to be true: An honorable man doesn’t go back on his word, never hurts a woman, and lasting love isn’t a myth. But with his recent move to a new job at the Appleton Fire station, the long hours don’t offer hope of finding the love he’s looking for.

When Jamey meets beautiful pediatric nurse Heather Longhurst after hearing her sing Santa Baby in a supermarket aisle, he offers her a promise he discovers he can’t keep. Heather has been betrayed by men in the past, making it hard for Jamey to gain her trust. Determined to find a way to win her heart, Jamey uses firefighter engine-uity and Heather’s favorite song to prove he’s got Christmas spirit she can believe in all year.

Only .99!  Amazon  Kobo   B&N    Apple 

Halloween Read! KISSES FROM LILLITH by @Adele_Downs #Vampire #Short Read #Halloween #99cents

Looking for a spooky, sexy Halloween tale that can be read on your lunch break? Check out my short story KISSES FROM LILLITH. Available on Amazon, Apple, Barnes & Noble, Kobo for .99!

Here’s a little about the book:

Hunter receives an intriguing invitation to a Cave Party in a distant Pennsylvania town. Though his relationship with his girlfriend Rosa might be heading for a break-up, he invites her to go, hoping for a night of fun and reconciliation. When the couple arrives for the birthday party, they soon realize they’ve made a dangerous mistake. Their fragile bond is tested to its limits when the powers of love and trust become their only weapons against dark forces gathering strength inside the cavern.

“Adele Downs has presented something fresh and new.” 5 Stars! ~Readers’ Favorite

“Wow! For a short story, this was a long, thrilling ride.” 5 Stars! ~Will Work For Books

“Kisses From Lillith…has everything you want in a paranormal romance. I found myself on the edge of my seat. Adele Downs…has a way of bringing a story to life…she always leaves you wanting more.” 5 Stars! ~Girl With Pen

Buy The Book on Amazon:

Buy The Book! Universal Link to Apple, Barnes & Noble, Kobo:

https://www.books2read.com/u/b5OEak

October Beach Day by Adele Downs #photography @Adele_Downs

On the beach on a warm October 2 afternoon, after a morning of writing. Yes, I’m writing again!

Photo copyright Adele Downs 2018.

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: