Down to Earth Romance

Archive for the ‘Books’ Category

Book Review-The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne #Thriller #BookReview #NetGalley #TheSecondWife @SherylBrowne @Bookouture

The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne

Publisher: Bookouture
Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 29 Jan 2019

Description:

She made her bed. You’ll lie in it.

Rebecca only wanted to help out – to be kind. Richard seemed so alone after his wife, Nicole, died, and Rebecca wanted to make sure he knew he had someone to rely on.

But now she’s in Nicole’s immaculate house. Drinking from her favourite crystal wine glass. Keeping shoes in her orderly closet. Comforting her sweet and grieving step-daughter. It feels like Rebecca is living another woman’s life.

And as she gets to know the neighbours, Rebecca hears stories that make her wonder: was free-spirited Nicole happy in this perfect life, or did she feel trapped? Did she feel, as Rebecca is beginning to, that something wasn’t quite right?

The book everyone’s talking about! If you loved The Girl on the Train, The Wife Between Us and The Girl Before, you’ll be totally gripped and unable to put down this twisty page-turning psychological thriller.

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

I thoroughly enjoyed this fabulous thriller! It’s rare to find a perfectly plotted book with equally perfect pacing and tension, but Sheryl Browne hit the mark in The Second Wife. The story leads us on a trail of dark twists and turns to the best possible solution and satisfying ending. I rooted for the female protagonist all the way to the last page. I highly recommend adding this book to your 2019 reading list. Received an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2667372605?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Saying Yes to 2019 #NewYear #2019goals

Thank you, blog subscribers and fans of my books, for sticking with me through the lean times when I had—have—no new releases to offer. Yet.

The year 2018 was an unusually tough one for me, and I’m not sorry to see it end. For those who might not have read my earlier posts about my bereavement, I lost my wonderful husband of 32 years in March. After 10 months of grieving, I still have a long way to go in the process, but I’m beginning to feel better. And that means I’m thinking about going back to work.

There are completed novels stored on my flash drive that need to be submitted to publishers; I’ve gotten the rights back to several previously published books I intend to revise, expand and re-release; and … I plan to start writing a new book. It takes enormous amounts of physical and creative energy to write a story, and it might be a bigger challenge than usual for me to delve into a new work. However, my goal for 2019 is to move forward. Fingers crossed.

May 2019 bring you and your loved ones all good things. Happy New Year.

Book Review-The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald #Thriller #NetGalley @Christinamac79 @simonschuster #TheNightOliviaFell #BookReview

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

ISBN  9781501184000
PRICE  $16.00 (USD)

Release Date: February 5, 2019.

Description:
In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

Creating character emotion that evokes reader empathy is an author’s biggest challenge, and Christina McDonald achieves that in spades in her debut novel The Night Olivia Fell. Sentences can be rewritten during the editing process and facts, grammar and spelling can be verified or corrected during copy editing. However, no amount of rewriting or editing can put emotion to the page if an author is unable to channel sentiment from her creative mind to her reader.

The Night Olivia Fell is a mystery and a thriller with a subtle secondary romance that softens the edges of sharp, painful human emotions like jealousy, loss and rage, and brings hope after despair. Though the story includes several important characters, it is a mother/daughter tale that will keep you guessing and turning the pages until the very end.

Received an ARC for an honest review from NetGalley.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2639599827?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Book Review-Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks #Thriller #HerOneMistake #NetGalley @HeidiPerksBooks @GalleryBooks

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks
Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
Gallery Books

Mystery & Thrillers
Pub Date 08 Jan 2019

Description:

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Adele’s Review:

5 Stars!

Loved reading this book! I couldn’t put it down. I should have been wrapping Christmas presents, baking cookies, or cleaning my house for company but I kept reading this gripping novel instead. I wanted to find out how Charlotte and Harriet resolved things, though I can’t say more without spoilers. Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks is a fast paced, well-written story for all women that challenges our expectations of marriage, child rearing, and the bonds of friendship. A must read! Received an advance copy from NetGalley for an honest review. Review also posted on Goodreads.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2631643100?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Quick Holiday Read! SANTA TO THE RESCUE by Adele Downs #romance #shortread @entangledpub @Adele_Downs #Christmasstory #Christmas

“Santa to the Rescue is the perfect kickoff to the season of celebration.” ~Romantic Reads & Such

This sweet novella, suitable for all ages from teen to adult, has received outstanding reviews and is the perfect topper for your holiday reading list. I hope you’ll pick up a copy for your eReader or tablet.

Can be read in about an hour and costs only .99!

SantaToTheRescueBlissCover

“Really puts you in the Christmas spirit! Loved it! 5 stars! ” ~ Curling Up With A Good Book

“Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!” 5 Stars! ~ Cat’s Reviews

*****

About The Story:

Firefighter Jamey Tucker knows three things in life to be true: An honorable man doesn’t go back on his word, never hurts a woman, and lasting love isn’t a myth. But with his recent move to a new job at the Appleton Fire station, the long hours don’t offer hope of finding the love he’s looking for.

When Jamey meets beautiful pediatric nurse Heather Longhurst after hearing her sing Santa Baby in a supermarket aisle, he offers her a promise he discovers he can’t keep. Heather has been betrayed by men in the past, making it hard for Jamey to gain her trust. Determined to find a way to win her heart, Jamey uses firefighter engine-uity and Heather’s favorite song to prove he’s got Christmas spirit she can believe in all year.

Only .99!  Amazon  Kobo   B&N    Apple 

Book Review, Little Darlings by Melanie Golding #Thriller #MelanieGolding #FairyTale #NetGalley @crookedlanebks @mk_golding

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding is a most unusual story; a haunting and sad contemporary novel based on a fairy tale about losing ones children to Changelings. It’s hard to review this story without spoilers, so I’ll say that I really liked the police detective, Harper, and her willingness to give the protagonist, Lauren, the mother of the twins at the center of this book, the benefit of doubt when she claims another women is trying to steal her children. The motivation behind that willingness is a brilliant plot point. I also liked Harper’s determination to solve the mystery of the attempted kidnapping on her own time, since there is no proof a crime has been committed, and her superior officer refuses to invest resources in an unsubstantiated claim.

I’m giving this book four stars instead of five because I found the pacing to be slow, especially in the beginning, and the supporting characters in the tale are wholly unlikeable. I suspect the author deliberately made them unlikeable to make the story darker and more sinister. This modern day Grimm style fairy tale is well-written and plotted, and guaranteed to haunt readers long after the last page. Received an advance copy of the book from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/19160349-adele-downs?shelf=read

Halloween Read! KISSES FROM LILLITH by @Adele_Downs #Vampire #Short Read #Halloween #99cents

Looking for a spooky, sexy Halloween tale that can be read on your lunch break? Check out my short story KISSES FROM LILLITH. Available on Amazon, Apple, Barnes & Noble, Kobo for .99!

Here’s a little about the book:

Hunter receives an intriguing invitation to a Cave Party in a distant Pennsylvania town. Though his relationship with his girlfriend Rosa might be heading for a break-up, he invites her to go, hoping for a night of fun and reconciliation. When the couple arrives for the birthday party, they soon realize they’ve made a dangerous mistake. Their fragile bond is tested to its limits when the powers of love and trust become their only weapons against dark forces gathering strength inside the cavern.

“Adele Downs has presented something fresh and new.” 5 Stars! ~Readers’ Favorite

“Wow! For a short story, this was a long, thrilling ride.” 5 Stars! ~Will Work For Books

“Kisses From Lillith…has everything you want in a paranormal romance. I found myself on the edge of my seat. Adele Downs…has a way of bringing a story to life…she always leaves you wanting more.” 5 Stars! ~Girl With Pen

Buy The Book on Amazon:

Buy The Book! Universal Link to Apple, Barnes & Noble, Kobo:

https://www.books2read.com/u/b5OEak

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: