Down to Earth Romance

Posts tagged ‘2019 thriller release’

Book Review-The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne #Thriller #BookReview #NetGalley #TheSecondWife @SherylBrowne @Bookouture

The Second Wife by Sheryl Browne

Publisher: Bookouture
Mystery & Thrillers

Pub Date 29 Jan 2019

Description:

She made her bed. You’ll lie in it.

Rebecca only wanted to help out – to be kind. Richard seemed so alone after his wife, Nicole, died, and Rebecca wanted to make sure he knew he had someone to rely on.

But now she’s in Nicole’s immaculate house. Drinking from her favourite crystal wine glass. Keeping shoes in her orderly closet. Comforting her sweet and grieving step-daughter. It feels like Rebecca is living another woman’s life.

And as she gets to know the neighbours, Rebecca hears stories that make her wonder: was free-spirited Nicole happy in this perfect life, or did she feel trapped? Did she feel, as Rebecca is beginning to, that something wasn’t quite right?

The book everyone’s talking about! If you loved The Girl on the Train, The Wife Between Us and The Girl Before, you’ll be totally gripped and unable to put down this twisty page-turning psychological thriller.

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

I thoroughly enjoyed this fabulous thriller! It’s rare to find a perfectly plotted book with equally perfect pacing and tension, but Sheryl Browne hit the mark in The Second Wife. The story leads us on a trail of dark twists and turns to the best possible solution and satisfying ending. I rooted for the female protagonist all the way to the last page. I highly recommend adding this book to your 2019 reading list. Received an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2667372605?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Book Review-Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks #Thriller #HerOneMistake #NetGalley @HeidiPerksBooks @GalleryBooks

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks
Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
Gallery Books

Mystery & Thrillers
Pub Date 08 Jan 2019

Description:

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Adele’s Review:

5 Stars!

Loved reading this book! I couldn’t put it down. I should have been wrapping Christmas presents, baking cookies, or cleaning my house for company but I kept reading this gripping novel instead. I wanted to find out how Charlotte and Harriet resolved things, though I can’t say more without spoilers. Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks is a fast paced, well-written story for all women that challenges our expectations of marriage, child rearing, and the bonds of friendship. A must read! Received an advance copy from NetGalley for an honest review. Review also posted on Goodreads.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2631643100?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Book Review, Little Darlings by Melanie Golding #Thriller #MelanieGolding #FairyTale #NetGalley @crookedlanebks @mk_golding

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding is a most unusual story; a haunting and sad contemporary novel based on a fairy tale about losing ones children to Changelings. It’s hard to review this story without spoilers, so I’ll say that I really liked the police detective, Harper, and her willingness to give the protagonist, Lauren, the mother of the twins at the center of this book, the benefit of doubt when she claims another women is trying to steal her children. The motivation behind that willingness is a brilliant plot point. I also liked Harper’s determination to solve the mystery of the attempted kidnapping on her own time, since there is no proof a crime has been committed, and her superior officer refuses to invest resources in an unsubstantiated claim.

I’m giving this book four stars instead of five because I found the pacing to be slow, especially in the beginning, and the supporting characters in the tale are wholly unlikeable. I suspect the author deliberately made them unlikeable to make the story darker and more sinister. This modern day Grimm style fairy tale is well-written and plotted, and guaranteed to haunt readers long after the last page. Received an advance copy of the book from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/19160349-adele-downs?shelf=read

Book Review-An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen #Thriller @greerkh @sarahpekkanen @StMartinsPress #NetGalley

About the Book:

The next novel of psychological suspense and obsession from the authors of the blockbuster bestseller The Wife Between Us.

Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed.

When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave.

Question #1: Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt?

But as the questions grow more and more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she’s thinking…and what she’s hiding.

Question #2: Have you ever deeply hurt someone you care about?

As Jess’s paranoia grows, it becomes clear that she can no longer trust what in her life is real, and what is one of Dr. Shields’ manipulative experiments. Caught in a web of deceit and jealousy, Jess quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly.

Question #3: Should a punishment always fit the crime?

From the authors of the blockbuster bestseller The Wife Between Us comes an electrifying new novel about doubt, passion, and just how much you can trust someone.

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen was crazy good! The authors hooked me on the first page and slowly and skillfully pulled me into the story until the very last page. I couldn’t stop reading! The plotting and pacing were perfectly executed, and though it took a little getting used to reading alternating first person/second person points of view, I couldn’t help but admire the skill it took to craft this riveting novel. (*Spoiler Alert!* I would have liked the final showdown between Jess and Dr. Shields to have been more explosive after their intense buildup, but that’s just my preference.)

I highly recommend this book. Received an advance copy from NetGalley for an honest review.

Goodreads Review Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2511813540

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: