Down to Earth Romance

Posts tagged ‘mystery and thriller novel’

Book Review-The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald #Thriller #NetGalley @Christinamac79 @simonschuster #TheNightOliviaFell #BookReview

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

ISBN  9781501184000
PRICE  $16.00 (USD)

Release Date: February 5, 2019.

Description:
In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

Adele’s Review:

4.5 Stars!

Creating character emotion that evokes reader empathy is an author’s biggest challenge, and Christina McDonald achieves that in spades in her debut novel The Night Olivia Fell. Sentences can be rewritten during the editing process and facts, grammar and spelling can be verified or corrected during copy editing. However, no amount of rewriting or editing can put emotion to the page if an author is unable to channel sentiment from her creative mind to her reader.

The Night Olivia Fell is a mystery and a thriller with a subtle secondary romance that softens the edges of sharp, painful human emotions like jealousy, loss and rage, and brings hope after despair. Though the story includes several important characters, it is a mother/daughter tale that will keep you guessing and turning the pages until the very end.

Received an ARC for an honest review from NetGalley.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2639599827?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Book Review-Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks #Thriller #HerOneMistake #NetGalley @HeidiPerksBooks @GalleryBooks

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks
Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
Gallery Books

Mystery & Thrillers
Pub Date 08 Jan 2019

Description:

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Adele’s Review:

5 Stars!

Loved reading this book! I couldn’t put it down. I should have been wrapping Christmas presents, baking cookies, or cleaning my house for company but I kept reading this gripping novel instead. I wanted to find out how Charlotte and Harriet resolved things, though I can’t say more without spoilers. Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks is a fast paced, well-written story for all women that challenges our expectations of marriage, child rearing, and the bonds of friendship. A must read! Received an advance copy from NetGalley for an honest review. Review also posted on Goodreads.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2631643100?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Book Review-Lies by T.M. Logan #LIES #NetGalley #Thriller @TMLoganAuthor @StMartinsPress

5 Stars

I couldn’t put this book down! LIES by T.M. Logan was fast paced and very well written. An impressive second book, and I will definitely read more by this author. I gave the book five stars because it kept me intrigued until the very last page. It’s not a perfect book, but was nevertheless a fun read. I would have enjoyed the story more if the solution had been woven into the plot in the third act instead of offering an info dump at the end. Still, this was a thoroughly entertaining story. Received a copy of the book from NetGalley for an honest review.

NetGalley Review Link:

https://www.netgalley.com/book/136106/review/467080

Goodreads Review Link:

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2495103118

Book Review-Under My Skin by Lisa Unger #UnderMySkin #NetGalley #Thriller @LisaUnger

undermyskincover131813-medium-e1534356627528.png

4.5 Stars

Reading books by Lisa Unger is always a Master Class in fiction writing. I’ve attended her book signings and read all of her books, and while I’ve enjoyed some more than others, it struck me that Under My Skin must have been an especially difficult story to write. Dreams and hallucinations, versus reality, is a tough subject.

As a recent widow myself, I felt an instant connection to the protagonist, Poppy, and feel it’s important to mention that Poppy’s struggle with grief struck a major chord with me. Her emotions, behavior, and reactions were both understandable and believable within the context of her loss. Grief affects people in profound ways, and the need to escape the pain can be all-consuming. Lisa Unger did a fantastic job depicting the ways grief can cause indescribable anguish. I cried at the end of this book and give the author major kudos for empathizing so well with the grieving process.

Under My Skin kept me turning the pages until the very end. I received a copy of the story from NetGalley.

Link to NetGalley review:

https://www.netgalley.com/book/131813/review/467080

On Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36645003-under-my-skin

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: