Down to Earth Romance

fallpumkinslgoutsidesigned

My husband and I are foodies who love to eat, and we follow an organic diet. Several years ago, we stopped buying processed, packaged foods in favor of fresh, and began cooking all of our own meals using ingredients without hormones, steroids, liquid sugar, high fructose corn syrup, processed salt, trans fats, or chemical preservatives. Take a look at the long list of unpronounceable ingredients on a can of soup or a frozen meal and you’ll see what I mean.

Since we made the switch to organic we’ve never eaten more delicious meals or felt better. We’ve both lost weight (my husband lost more, of course), though we don’t skimp on portions or taste. Yes, we still enjoy the occasional pizza, takeout Chinese food, or basket of hot and tangy Buffalo wings, and my chocolate cravings will never, ever disappear, but 90% of the food we consume is 100% healthy. Eliminating processed foods from our kitchen has been the best thing we’ve ever done for ourselves.

Our free range Thanksgiving Day turkey was raised at one of our favorite local farms, and the stuffing, vegetable side dishes, and desserts will be wholly organic. My husband likes to cook the holiday meals (I know, I’m lucky!), and he bakes the best pies I’ve ever eaten with his signature scratch crust. Even I don’t know his secret recipe. At the end of our traditional holiday meal our family enjoys his pumpkin pie with dollops of real whipped cream. (Pictured is one of my husband’s pumpkin pies, fresh from our oven.)

pumpkinpieyum

Organic eating has changed our lives for the better. This Thanksgiving Day, and every day, I’m grateful to those who grow, raise, supply, and distribute these delicious whole foods to us. I’m thankful for the family I love, and the time we’ll spend together around our holiday table chatting and eating a guilt-free meal.

I’m also thankful for you, my readers and blog subscribers, for your year-round support. I wish you a warm, healthy, happy Thanksgiving.

Best~ Adele

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

